The nutritional advantages of oats come from the fact that its bran and germ layer isn’t removed during post-harvest processing. Most of the fiber and other nutrients are found in these layers.
To fully enjoy the benefits of oats, it is suggested that gluten-free oats be used. Gluten is a protein present in some grains like wheat, barley and rye. Unfortunately some individuals can be quite allergic to this substance. Oats used to be grouped along with these grains but recent studies have found that the different varieties of oats actually have varying degrees of toxicity. Some of them low enough to be generally safe, except perhaps for those with the highest sensitivity to gluten.
The more common problem with oats is gluten contamination. This usually occurs in mills where oats are processed along with other grains. For an oat product to be certified as gluten-free, the producer has to strictly follow the set standards from planting all the way to store shelves.
Continue reading to know more about the benefits of gluten-free oats (and be sure to also check out recommended soak times for beans, grains, legumes, nuts and rice). Continue reading