Oats aren’t consistently included nor excluded in the list of dangerous grains or cereals for those with gluten intolerance because their varieties contain different levels of toxicity. This grain does naturally contain a small amount of prolamin-type proteins, but gluten isn’t one of them. Also, not all prolamins are detrimental to those with this kind of food intolerance.
The more common cause of gluten getting into oats is contamination. Oats are usually planted, harvested and processed along with wheat or barley – grains that definitely contain gluten. This is what makes regular oats, i.e. not certified gluten-free, risky for individuals with the particular condition.
Nevertheless, people with strong enough guts can still enjoy the nutrients provided by this popular grain. Continue reading and know more about the pros and cons of regular oats (and be sure to also check out recommended soak times for beans, grains, legumes, nuts and rice). Continue reading